The Return of Virtual Band Gorillaz

Image Credit: Your EDM
Image Credit: Your EDM

Following almost 6 years of silence from the Gorillaz, the band has begun releasing songs from their highly anticipated 5th studio album.

The new album is titled Humanz and so far four songs have been released. These are “Saturnz Barz (feat. Popcorn)”,  “Andromeda (feat. D.R.A.M.)”, “Ascension (feat. Vince Staples)” and “We Got The Power (feat. Jenny Beth).”

The band has not announced a full set of tour dates but are expected to play at their own Demon Dayz festival in Kent, England in June.

Almost 20 years ago Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett conceptualised the Gorillaz. The virtual band consists of four members: Noodles, Murdoc, 2D and Russell who are all represented in cartoon form.

Humanz Album Artwork. Image Credit: Pitchfork
Humanz Album Artwork. Image Credit: Pitchfork

The Gorillaz have since developed a cult following, particularly in response to the abstract artistic approach of the band to both their visual and aural style. Their eclectic music style is particularly emanated in their 2010 conceptual album Plastic Beach. 

Their new album Humanz is expected to be released on April 28 and as well as the four tracks, they have also released the album artwork and the tracklist. The tracklist has revealed some pretty big names from various genres across the industry have been collaborating with Gorillaz, including Danny Brown, Grace Jones, Vince Staples and De La Soul to name a few. You can check out the full tracklist below.


Ascension feat. Vince Staples
Strobelite feat. Peven Everett
Saturnz Barz feat. Popcaan
Momentz feat. De La Soul
Submission feat. Danny Brown & Kelela
Charger feat. Grace Jones
Andromeda feat. D.R.A.M.
Busted and Blue
Carnival feat. Anthony Hamilton
Let Me Out feat. Mavis Staples & Pusha T
Sex Murder Party feat. Jamie Principle & Zebra Katz
She’s My Collar feat. Kali Uchis
Hallelujah Money feat. Benjamin Clementine
We Got The Power feat. Jehnny Beth

Bonus tracks on the deluxe edition:

The Apprentice feat. Rag’n’ Bone Man, Zebra Katz & RAY BLK
Halfway To The Halfway House feat. Peven Everett
Ticker Tape feat. Carly Simon & Kali Uchis
Circle Of Friendz feat. Brandon Markell Holmes

The featured artists on the track list as well as the songs that have already been released suggest the new album will have a more hip-hop influence infused with the Gorillaz familiar dead pan vocals and electronic sound.

Listen to the already released tracks from their new album below: