FKA Twigs Drops Album Release Date

Finally, we have an exact date that FKA twigs will be releasing her long-awaited second album, ‘Magdalene’.

Photo Credit: Pitchfork

This album will serve as a follow up to twigs’ 1st LP, which came out all the way back in 2014 titled LP1.

But fear not FKA twigs fans, the wait won’t be much longer with her album set to drop on the 25th of October – but until then her singles ‘Cellophane’ which was released earlier this year, and recently released ‘Holy Terrain’ will have to hold die-hard fans over.

The single ‘Holy Terrain’, and its accompanying video released earlier this week, was produced by Jack Antonoff and Skrillex, and features rapper Future on the track.

In a statement to Music Feeds, twigs said this album allowed her to find her true, unedited self;

“The process of making this album has allowed me for the first time, and in the most real way, to find compassion when I have been at my most ungraceful, confused and fractured. I stopped judging myself and at that moment found hope in ‘Magdalene’. To her I am forever grateful.”

For twigs, this album was a push to write about heartbreak with newfound honesty.

“I never thought heartbreak could be so all-encompassing. I never thought that my body could stop working to the point that I couldn’t express myself physically in the ways that I have always loved and found so much solace.”

On her choice for featuring Future on her beloved track, twigs admitted it was beautiful to hear him get emotional and open up;

“His verse is beautiful. He’s just talking about his downfalls as a man; how he’s sorry and asking for healing,” she said. “I love sad Future. I love when he gets emo, when he expresses himself. It’s just so beautiful when he opens up.”

FKA twigs (left) and Future (right).
Photo Credit: Spin

The track list for the sensitive, and yet incredibly empowering album is bound to take you on a journey with nine songs produced by a star-studded team including Skrillex, Cashmere Cat, benny blanco and more.

Magdalene tracklist:
1. “Thousand Eyes”
2. “Home With You”
3. “Sad Day”
4. “Holy Terrain” (ft. Future)
5. “Mary Magdalene”
6. “Fallen Alien”
7. “Mirrored Heart”
8. “Daybed”
9. “Cellophane”

MAGDAELENE is out Friday, 25th October – watch the video for ‘Holy Terrain’ here.

Subscribe to FIB’s newsletter for your weekly dose of music, fashion and pop culture news!