Lil Nas X’s Album Artwork is Stunning

Lil Nas X has finally released the album art and tracklist for his awaited debut studio album, Montero.

Credit: People Magazine

Ahead of the release of Lil Nas X’s studio debut album Montero on the 17th of September, he has released the album’s cover art. It features the artist floating naked in a fantastical setting in the clouds, similar to the cover art for his song “Call Me By Your Name”.

The opened cocoon on the top right hand can be perceived as a reference to his coming out, and the rebirth of a new career following several hit singles since releasing “Old Town Road”.

Credit: Twitter (@lilnasx) | Artwork by Charlotte Rutherford

The rapper has taken to Twitter to announce that his inspiration for Montero came from the Bible. More specifically, he references the book of Genesis. His second, alleged, inspiration is none other than Spongebob Squarepants.

Lil Nas X has also told fans that when the album art is placed on top of each other, it becomes a continuous loop. He told fans this was a direct allegory to the circle of life.


Montero will feature 15 songs, including “Industry Baby” and “Call Me By Your Name (Montero)”. The album will feature artists like Megan Thee Stallion, Doja Cat, Miley Cyrus, and Elton John.

1. “Montero (Call Me By Your Name)”
2. “Dead Right Now”
3. “Industry Baby” (feat. Jack Harlow)
4. “That’s What I Want”
5. “The Art of Realization”
6. “Scoop” (feat. Doja Cat)
7. “One of Me” (ft. Elton John)
8. “Lost In The Citadel”
9. “Dolla Sign Slime” (feat. Megan Thee Stallion)
10. “Tales of Dominica”
11. “Sun Goes Down”
12. “Void”
13. “Don’t Want It”
14. “Life After Salem”
15. “Am I Dreaming” (feat. Miley Cyrus)

Subscribe to FIB’s Weekly Breaking News Report for your weekly dose of music, fashion and pop culture news!