Elton John’s New Album, Upcoming Collabs & Farewell Tour

Elton John’s announces new album The Lockdown Sessions featuring an amazing guest list. And is due to resume his final world tour, “Farewell Yellow Brick Road” later this month. 

Credit: Billboard

Legendary artist Sir Elton John is due to proceed with his farewell tour later this month in Copenhagen. And he has announced his new upcoming album The Lockdown Sessions, which will be released on the 22nd of October. The album will be the singer’s 32nd, and was recorded during lockdown in the last 18 months.

The Lockdown Sessions

Credit: Offical Charts

Elton began creating The Lockdown Sessions after he was forced to postpone his “Farewell Yellow Brick Road” tour due to the pandemic. The album features a massive catalogue of A-List features including Dua Lipa, Nicki Minaj, Young Thung, Charlie Puth, Lil Nas X and Stevie Wonder just to name a few. Elton collaborated with the guests either remotely or while social distancing, and explained further in article by The Guardian:

“Some of the recording sessions had to be done remotely, via Zoom, which I’d obviously never done before. Some of the sessions were recorded under very stringent safety regulations: working with another artist, but separated by glass screens. But all the tracks I worked on were really interesting and diverse, stuff that was completely different to anything I’m known for, stuff that took me out of my comfort zone into completely new territory. And I realised there was something weirdly familiar about working like this. At the start of my career, in the late 60s, I worked as a session musician. Working with different artists during lockdown reminded me of that. I’d come full circle: I was a session musician again. And it was still a blast.”

The album includes a total of 16 tracks:

  1. Cold Heart (Pnau Remix) –  Elton John & Dua Lipa
  2. Always Love You – Elton John, Young Thug & Nicki Minaj
  3. Learn To Fly – Surfaces feat. Elton John
  4. After All – Elton John & Charlie Puth
  5. Chosen Family – Rina Sawayama & Elton John
  6. The Pink Phantom – Gorillaz feat. Elton John & 6LACK
  7. It’s A Ain (Global Reach Mix) – Elton John & Years & Years
  8. Nothing Else Matters – Miley Cyrus feat. WATT, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo & Chad Smith
  9. Orbit – Elton John & SG Lewis
  10. Simple Things –  Elton John & Brandi Carlile
  11. Beauty In The Bones – Jimmie Allen & Elton John
  12. One Of Me – Lil Nas X feat. Elton John
  13. E-Ticket – Elton John & Eddie Vedder
  14. Finish Line – Elton John & Stevie Wonder
  15. Stolen Car – Elton John & Stevie Nicks
  16. I’m Not Gonna Miss You – Glen Campbell & Elton John

Cold Heart (Pnau Remix)

On the 13 of August, Elton and Dua released the first song on the album “Cold Heart (Pnau Remix). The track fuses elements of Elton’s song “Sacrifice” from his 1989 album Sleeping with the Past. One of Elton’s biggest hits “Rocket Man”, “Where’s Shoorah?” from his 1976 album Blue Moves. And his 1983’s single “Kiss the Bride” from album Too Low for Zero.

Upcoming Collab with Lady Gaga

Credit: Billboard

Earlier last month in an article by The Sun, a source close to both artists reported that the pair are working on “a hardcore drum and bass track”. The source revealed that the track will be a new version of Elton and Gaga’s previous collaboration. “Sine From Above” was featured on Gaga’s 2020 Number 1 album “Chromatica”. The new track is said to “shock” fans:

“It’s about as far away from ‘Rocket Man’ and ‘Candle in the Wind’ as you can get,” the source told The Sun.

“It’s gone from a pop-dance track to extreme hardcore drum and bass.”

In an interview at Apple Music’s Zane Lowe, Gaga said:

“He’s been my mentor for a long time, I mean, he’s always challenged me to keep my head above water and it’s something that I always appreciate is that he knows when I’m down. He just does. And he knows because I hide, because I never want anyone to see me when I’m like that.”

Farewell Yellow Brick Road

Credit: ABC11

Farewell Yellow Brick Road is Elton John’s final world tour. The tour commenced on 8 of September in 2018 and has been postponed and paused due to the coronavirus pandemic. It currently has 308 shows worldwide, after Elton added many additional shows due to many being cancelled/postponed. Elton is due to finally resume his tour later this month in Copenhagen.

The legendary singer will perform some of his greatest hits including, “Tiny Dancer”, “Rocket Man”, “Crocodile Rock” and many more. You can see dates and book tickets to see Elton one last time here.

Subscribe to FIB’s Weekly Breaking News Report for your weekly dose of music, fashion and pop culture news!